Richard Welnowski – Film Producer, Technical Director, Director, Cinematographer, Photographer, Lecturer.

PRIMETIME EMMY AWARD Winner filmmaker Richard Welnowski has over twenty years experience in image creating, compositing, directing, and editing for professional and commercial work. Areas of expertise include high-end digital film production and still image using state of the art technology. This includes HD from its early introduction in 1987 up to today’s HD 24P.

He is a PRIMETIME EMMY AWARD Winner for “Outstanding Achievement in Special Effects” for “THE ORCHESTRA” film for PBS, Canal Plus, NHK.

For the movie, “KAFKA” (film received Golden Gate Award-San Francisco International Film Festival 1994), Richard achieved the greatest number of HD compositing layers, over 100 in each frame.

Director of Photography for feature film Pennhurst 2010, film directed by Michael Rooker, and starring Michael Rooker, Heylie Duff and Beverly Mitchell.

He finished work on the second season of LazyTown (a total of 56 episodes); the successful children’s show was awarded a BAFTA in 2006, was twice nominated for an EMMY, and was nominated for a BAFTA again in 2007. LazyTown episodes are presented in 130 countries around the world.

Also in December 2007, the feature film “No Network”, produced (Executive Producer-Technical Director) by Welnowski, premiered in Europe, receiving highest reviews. This film has won more than 20 international awards.

In 2007, Welnowski completed filming three 50-minute episodes for the National Geographic series titled Day Under Fire; The Vietnam, Wilderness and Saipan-WW2 (DP-Technical Director).  Episodes premiered in APRIL 2008 on the National Geographic HD channel.

In June 2008 Welnowski completed filming selected scenes for We The People, IMAX film (Technical Director).  The film, portrays the events surrounding the signing of the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution and the Bill of Rights.

Richard Welnowski is also an active artist photographer with over thirty solo or group exhibitions worldwide. In 1996 he was awarded member ZPAF (Artist Photographers Union in Poland)